Skip to content

The Day-Two Stumble – NaNo

November 2, 2010

Eech, it’s Day Two. My word count is perilously far from the 3000-and-whatever goal to keep NaNoWriMo on track.

Possibly because monkeying around creating a wordpress blog =/= writing your novel. (It’s cool. This is my fourth year in a row now. It happens every time).

So, to cheer ourselves up – let’s review how day one went.

Sat at the coffee shop with lecturer Sara and cousin Willow (whose blog will soon be on a handy blogroll at the bottom of this page, should I ever figure out what I’m doing) – and quickly unnerved Willow’s classmate. I explained that my plans for NaNo consisted of ‘just wade in there and shit all over the genre’.

He rather sweetly suggested I should put this off until I was ‘less stressed’. Didn’t have the heart to tell him this was me at my mosy relaxed.

The genre in question was steampunk, by the by, which I have no desire to shit on. I just meant that as I know next to nothing about it, really, I’ll probably make a pig’s ear of it. Plus I’m blending it with my own vague and slightly horrid fantasy genre anyway. Poor thing.

Writing went all right, the word count goal was hit, but it involving a lot of switching points of view and an extremely intrusive narrator. The narrator turns out to be a lot of fun, constantly interrupting the story with opinions, extra facts, and general smarminess. Writing towards a fictional reader who lives inside the novel’s universe was good fun, and helped me figure out where the narrator was going with the plot.

Where the plot is going with the plot is anyone’s guess.

But apart from interior monologues and general dreariness, nothing brilliant has happened – and it’s a far cry from the blood and guts I’m expecting here – so I should probably get on and try to smash the 3000 word mark tonight. We’re currently bumbling around with Nick and Adrian – the characters who, in a film, you’d call ‘Those Two Guys’.

I shall let you know how all went tomorrow (or, alternatively, forget to, and let the site slowly fester and die. I tend to treat diaries, blogs, journals and web accounts a little like withering house plants – i.e., badly.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 6:19 pm

    Oh, you are so fun.

    My classmate, William, reminds me a little of you; not to mention Joshua Solidor. Perhaps that’s why I like hanging around him so much. He’s a combo of Mish-Josh. Mosh/Jish/Josh/Mish LOL (ha, ha, I just – did you see that? At the end? How your names – they – like – yeah…)

    I hope you don’t let your blog fester and die like my poor parsley plant in the kitchen (which, by the way, I don’t understand).

    • November 2, 2010 6:35 pm

      William was lovely, if bewildered.
      He definitely sounded like Josh. I had to get up and buy coffee so I wouldn’t gigglesnort whilst he spoke to Rory.

      You don’t understand what? The existence of parsley? (I can’t help you there either), or you can’t understand why it’s dying? (neglect, my love. neglect and age – it comes to us all).

      • November 2, 2010 6:39 pm

        Psch, you’re more polite than I am. Poor William seemed quite purplexed that I simply HAD to write down everything he said.

        *snort* No, why is it dying? I water it every daaaay! Buh-buh-buh-buh T_T

        • November 2, 2010 6:43 pm

          Well – darling – it’s not a house plant?
          Parsley isn’t meant to live forever and a day, the poor thing’s practically ancient in, I don’t know, parsley-years.

          If you want to keep it alive, I’d guess it’s meant to have a larger dish like a whole herb garden.

Leave a Reply

