Skip to content

Impaling for Dummies 101, or Day Four

November 4, 2010

Today has been much ick-sick. I do not feel well.
But after perusing the delights of Halo: Reach (I approve, I approve), I finally knuckled down to some writing, and am sliiightly ahead of schedule. It was a nice little surprise.

Just entered Part Two, where things start getting slightly spoileriffic – but suffice to say that there’s now plently of creepy dialogue, getting imapled on things, and wading in splattering blood – which is a welcome change from wishy-washy musings of an older narrator Teresa. She still managed to describe it in a rather wishy-washy way, but we can sort that later.

Extract One
Adrian – he was smart, fun, endlessly giggly. I loved to spend time with him.

Nick – I wasn’t so sure what to make of him. I think I loved to spend time with him too. That may surprise you.

Robert – made me weak at the knees. I told you I was sixteen and stupid.

As we climbed the grand staircase, he kept ducking his head under his arm and grinning down at me. Robert was irrepressible like that. Each time he did it, I saw Nick scowl, and look a little more awkward, shuffle with a stranger gait. I was so self-absorbed that I thought for a half a moment it was jealousy.

Extract Two
I was about to say next ‘he looked sad’ – but the truth is that I want him to look sad when I remember this. I want to think that he was sad, that he was already regretting it. He wasn’t – and I need to accept that fact.

Sad is a cop-out anyway – it’s a word that doesn’t mean anything. People aren’t ‘sad’, ‘sad’ is vague. People are wistful, or pensive, or grieving, or mournful, or hurt. Robert wasn’t those things; not really.

He changed the subject, because I wouldn’t reply to the ‘pretty’ comment. I was plain and quite tubby, and my face was still too childish to really be called attractive. ‘Dumpy’, I felt, was more my area.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 10:02 pm

    D:
    Teresaa~ She is very relateable. It’s almost uncomfortable to read. She speaks so honestly. I almost hate her for being so honest. I feel raw and exposed everytime she speaks as narrator.

    I look forward to meeting this Robert now. This is a character I have never heard you mention before. Did he spring out of the coffee cup, or have you really just never mentioned him to me? lol

    I loves you lots. I still have chocolatey crispy things in my room – unopened. And new Kokia songs, if that helps. <3

    • November 5, 2010 8:50 pm

      Aha, I love that she has that affect on you as a narrator – I never thought of her like that.
      It is fun having a main who DOESN’T think she’s the bee knees finally.

      Oh, no, Robert’s been around since the beginning (since I started this in Cornwall, five or six years ago). He was a super-main character, but his relevance to the plot got less and less until he kind of became a means to an end. It’s a shame because he was really interesting, and now he’s just sidelined :/
      So, that’s why I don’t mention him. He was in the early drafts a LOT. Like…more than Nick.

      KOKIA~

      • November 5, 2010 9:06 pm

        Very much so. She is an intrusive narrator without meaning to be.

        Wow… Poor Robert. It is a shame when that kinda thing happens, eh? There are four of my rebels from SITS with really interesting backstories, but they keep getting pushed further and further into the background XD

        You’ll have to tell me ore about him sometime.

        KOKIA~

        • November 5, 2010 9:14 pm

          Ah, one of these days I shall tell you his story. It’s probably a good thing it’s not in there, to be honest.
          Although there is some cute pre-story stuff with him and Nick…I might add that in anyway for fun.

          If you have trouble with the ‘Reply’ button running away – go to your Settings>Discussion and you’ll it’s set to nest comments 3 levels deep. Set it to like 10 or something, and then you can reply more than 3 times to a comment :)

  2. November 4, 2010 10:03 pm

    Have to post again to click the ‘notify me’ option >_O

Leave a Reply

