Skip to content

Review: Ping Pong and Pussy Popping by Sandra Cain

April 3, 2012
tags: ,

Today I bought my lecturer’s newly-released ebook, Ping Pong and Pussy Popping: an anecdotal history of the vagina, for just 77p at the Kindle Store.

Wait, I thought this blog was for geeky sci-fi stuff, and now you’re mentioning vaginas, and I think I’m going to go stand somewhere else…

No, no, stop that. I’m mentioning it because it’s a little bit feminist, and a lot awesome.

Ping Pong is a short fun-fact book (we sometimes call them ‘coffee table books’) packed with weird funny snippets of info about the history of the vagina and how different cultures treat it. It’s great to see a book so open, fun, and not at all intimidating on this subject. And boys, I’m serious about the ‘not intimidating’, this is a great read for you too.

As a personal side-note, it was especially good to see a book addressing vaginismus – a serious problem which is frequently misunderstood even in the medical profession and can leave women miserable. It’s a cause I’m really into, and it was nice to see it highlighted properly for once.

It also dedicated some time to discussing the very real issue of female circumcision, something else I feel pretty strongly about. Fellow uni student Nora Wallaya has a fantastic blog about it, which you should go read now. I’ll wait.

The book really only suffers from a few glitches in typesetting, which comes with the territory when setting up new ebooks. Hopefully this will be fixed as it moves from Kindle and iPad onto other ebook formats and gets wider distribution.

I really enjoyed this, (not just because she’s my lecturer) and would recommend it. It’s unique, fun, and did I mention it’s 77 freaking pence, right now? I also reviewed it on Goodreads, if you’re on there (if you’re not, then this is a problem you must swiftly address, book-geeks).

You can buy Ping Pong and Pussy Popping at the Kindle Store, or it’s available for the iPad.

You can contact Sandra Cain on twitter at @SandraCain3

In other news, I now write article-blog-things on Squidoo.Com, a co-operative site which pays its contributors royalties from the combined advertising revenue. Which is, you know, totally damn sweet.

Right now, it’s just old essays – so I’d appreciate it if you take a look, but they’re not really top-notch like later articles will (hopefully) be after I graduate. But watch this space. Watch it.

Oh. So, what, you’re going to blog over there now? Because your recent track record here is pretty shocking.

No, I will be on both and blog about different things – the set-up of Squidoo articles isn’t the same as the blog. Chill out. Also, I will blog loads more after graduation. You know, when I just have a full-time job to worry about. Or something.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2012 10:39 pm

    I have no Kindle or iPad devise of which you speak, but maybe one day. I’m really curious to read Sandra’s book. The title is genius. This was a nice review! I’m even more intrigued pick up Ping Pong and hopefully others are, too.

    • April 12, 2012 10:46 am

      Yeah – I think a catchy, odd title really helps, especially in a market so potentially huge as the Kindle Store.
      I think you can download the Kindle For PC for free from Amazon; which is how I read this without a Kindle of my own.

Trackbacks

  1. How A Gorean Pussy Was Made – Master Huldschinsky's Adventures

Leave a Reply

