Skip to content

The Book Signing: How Did It Go?

June 28, 2012

The answer? Very well indeed.

I felt the people of Southampton were actually proud of Solent Uni, and us. And, in return, I felt proud of Ignite.

Watching it get tucked under people’s arms, carefully put into handbags, passed over the till at Waterstones; we waved goodbye to the copies as they found their way to their new homes. We hope everyone who picked up a copy will find something in the collection to enjoy.

Whilst friends and family came along to support us, plenty of members of the public wandered up to the table too. The vast majority of people who flicked through our display copies happily bought it and asked us all to sign them. (A few people tried to pay us for them, which was terribly sweet, but all the money goes to Waterstones and Solent University).

The result of this is that we sold out of Ignite‘s first print run. That means there are at least 100 copies sat on bookshelves round the country, which is pretty good going for a first-time indie-published title.

Both Waterstones stores in Southampton took some copies to put on their Recommended shelf, and we were their best-sellers of the day (possibly beaten by Fifty Shades of Grey, but we’re not miracle workers). For the record, Waterstones were fantastic throughout the entire event. Every member of staff made us feel welcome, and helped out in any way they could. Huge shoutout to them!

If you live in or around Southampton, I will be bringing our ISBN in the near future to October Books, the independent bookstore in Portswood; Southampton Central Library; and also my local library in Bitterne. If you know of any other independent bookstores in the area, or somewhere else that would display our book, please let me know at mitchkallan [at] gmail [dot] com.

Of course, the main way to purchase our book is still through Amazon, or as an ebook via the Kindle Store.

In other news, I’ve been publishing quite a bit over on Squidoo, if you’d like to check any of my articles out. New lenses include my advice on getting a beta reader (specifically aimed at fanfiction authors, but the idea is the same for any writer), our tips on geeky nights in, and my review of Neil Gaiman’s collection of short works Angels & Visitations.

Upcoming posts here on the blog will likely be a review of Tom Masters‘s epic poem Silence, which I’ve just finished, any more information on Ignite, and maybe some thoughts on pulp novels as I’ve been reading James Patterson‘s When the Wind Blows and The Lake House recently.

And finally, I have a LinkedIn profile here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2012 5:18 pm

    It’s such a shame I couldn’t be there for the signing :/ Will you still be living in Southy next year? I shall be wanting a signature.

    • July 1, 2012 11:46 am

      Heya – I’m living here in Bitterne for at least another year – will definitely be around for a signature :)

      It’s lovely that you pre-ordered a copy; proves to Amazon that we have some other demand for physical copes, so that was great too!

  2. July 2, 2012 6:27 pm

    Oh hey, I recognise that fantastic picture. Check out the photographer’s skills ;P

    I’m late reading this and even though I already know of your awesome success, it’s still lovely to reread the stats. Missing you! Also, I have a box of goodies waiting to be sent across the sea…

    • July 2, 2012 8:06 pm

      The first time I posted this, it had a lovely caption saying ‘Photo by Willow Wood’.
      But then it bugged out and flipped my text so boo…
      But I did intend to put your credit all over it, honest.

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

